“Stories only happen to people who can tell them”

– Allan Gurganus

Here is a thought. This guy is damn right, by the way.

As it happens, my mouth is dry and my fingers too. For a few days already. Not that nothing happens. I just can’t tell my stories, because I don’t find the angle that makes me laugh. Or think.

That’s what I want my ideal reader to feel when passing by randomly on this public diary. I want you to feel laughing or thinking.

Usually I would tell you about my yesterday running in the sudden monsoon near my house on the way to buy some Chili O’Crab, and everybody started to stare, and I started to frown, until I remembered that my wet top newly was white. The good thing is that, well, I can keep my composure quite well. Even when mortified inside. The other good thing is that as I was already running, it did not look like fleeing when I started to sprint back home. No. No no.

See, stuff happens. Small things, big things. But then, I just don’t feel telling. Today.

I am drowning in work, cheating on Babylove with my job, not unwillingly I must say as I really like what I do. Also, Love cheats on both of us with his own job.

This is the Singapore fever.

That’s okay though. For if I can’t tell, I can still draw. And this is something Babylove and I share. And the curls.

Sometimes I wonder if genetics is what matters. I can't see too much of my genes in this child, but definitely loads of my worst behaviors... that somehow makes me even prouder. Though I may have nothing to do with it.

We went to the hairdresser. Babylove refused to let his curls get shortened.
The hairdresser won anyway.

6 thoughts on ““Stories only happen to people who can tell them”

  1. Ariana says:

    This is one of the things that I’m working on, too. I’ve recognized that “waiting for inspiration” is one of the ways I procrastinate…that and deciding that I really need to clean the kitchen and rearrange my closet as soon as I sit down to write, lol.

    Like

    • Chili Jess says:

      If it made you smile, it makes me happier.
      Drawing is like telling or writing, it gets easier once you’ve started. It’s just emotions and feelings after all. It’s always hard to bring emotions out of your mouth or on paper at the beginning, you’re never sure that’s what is expected..until you stop caring about how it looks or sounds, and understand that how it feels for you is what matters.

      Or so, imho.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

